Nellie Andreeva

TV and film writer Drew (formerly Andrew) Chapman is set to adapt his upcoming first novel, The Ascendant, as a drama series for Fox through 20th Century Fox TV. In the vein of Three Days of the Condor, The Ascendant is described as a modern, subversive take on the white-knuckle thriller. It centers on Garrett Reilly, a 26-year-old NYC bond trader and financial wunderkind who recognizes a huge U.S. Treasury bond selloff and an opportunity to become incredibly rich but stumbles upon something much larger — and scarier: the first attack in a covert war of unthinkable proportions. The novel which will be published by Simon & Schuster in January with a big initial print run of 75,000 — is envisioned as a franchise, with Chapman already writing the second book. In TV, Chapman, repped by Rothman Brecher Agency, Original Artists, Regal Literary, Ragna Nervik Management and Jonathan Shikora is writing ABC’s upcoming CIA limited series The Assets and previously penned the ABC pilot A House Divided. 

Lithium is another hourlong Fox project from 20th TV, written/executive produced by Michael Horowitz (Burn Notice) and executive produced by Richard Shepard and Bryan and Sean Furst through their 20th TV-based Olé.

The project was pitched to Fox last month and then laid off at 20th. It revolves around three friends who find their up-and-coming battery start-up threatened by a lack of lithium and decide to use unconventional techniques to solve their problem in Bolivia, leading them into even more trouble. Horowitz is repped by WME, Magnet Management, and Lichter, Grossman.  Shepard is repped by WME, Anonymous Content, and Jackoway Tyerman. Olé is with WME

TV Editor Nellie Andreeva - tip her here.