Check Out Our New Look

Butterworths Win WGA Prize For ‘Fair Game’ Script

By | Thursday February 3, 2011 @ 12:12pm PST
Mike Fleming

LOS ANGELES – Screenwriters Jez Butterworth & John-Henry Butterworth have been named recipients of the Writers Guild of America, West’s 2011 Paul Selvin Award for their screenplay for Fair Game. The award recognizes written work which embodies the spirit of constitutional rights and civil liberties. The Butterworth brothers, along with other Guild honorees, will be recognized at the 2011 Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony this Saturday, February 5, at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel-Grand Ballroom.

“Jez & John-Henry Butterworth’s Paul Selvin Award-winning screenplay for Fair Game expertly conveys both the impact and implications of a contemporary media climate where public and private worlds are often blurred for political gain. Their absorbing script articulates nuances of political and personal speech, while adeptly maintaining a tight focus on the human-scale drama, illuminating the all-too-personal costs when our basic rights are put in jeopardy,” said WGAW President John Wells.

“We think it’s very cool to be given this award. Fair Game and the themes it contains represent a time when the Constitution was under intense pressure. We’re just grateful to everyone involved for the opportunity to be part of a movie that covers such an important period of history. Thanks Writers Guild!” said Fair Game screenwriters Jez and John-Henry Butterworth.

The Summit Entertainment-River Road Entertainment-Participant Media film, directed by Doug Liman with a screenplay by Jez Butterworth & John-Henry Butterworth, based on the books The Politics of Truth by Joseph Wilson and Fair Game by Valerie Plame Wilson, offers a thought-provoking, troubling glimpse into the

Read More »

Comments (9)

Writers Guild East Sets Awards Roster; ‘Bourne’ Scribe Tony Gilroy To Present Dad Frank Gilroy Lifetime Achievement

Mike Fleming

NEW YORK CITY – Television, film, stage, and news headliners are set to take the stage for the 2011 Writers Guild of America Awards ceremony in New York City. Kristen Schaal (The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and Flight of the Conchords) will host the 63rd annual Writers Guild Awards in New York City on Saturday, February 5, 2011 at the AXA Equitable Center.

Award presenters include: Kathleen Turner, John Larroquette, Donnie Wahlberg, Judah Friedlander, Merritt Wever, Vincent Piazza, Gretchen Mol, Erica Slezak, Matthew Settle, John Hodgman, John Waters, Peter Riegert, Marshall Brickman, Jenny Lumet, and Chris Wragge. Additional presenters are expected to be added to the line-up.

In addition:

* Tony Gilroy will present his father Frank Gilroy with the Hunter Award for Lifetime Achievement in Writing.
* The Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television will receive the Burkey Award for contributions that have brought honor and dignity to writers.
* Marianne Pryor will receive the Jablow Award for devoted service to the Guild.

The 63rd annual Writers Guild Awards will take place on Saturday, February 5, 2011 in New York City at the AXA Equitable Center and simultaneously in Los Angeles at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel-Grand Ballroom.

Comments (0)