Check Out Our New Look

‘American Hustle’ Leads Australian Acad’s International Nominations; 2nd Year In A Row For A David O Russell Film

aactaThe Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts announced nominees for the AACTA Awards last week with Baz Luhrmann’s locally-made The Great Gatsby and Oz filmmaker Kim Mordaunt’s foreign language Oscar contender The Rocket leading the pack. Today, the Academy has unveiled nominees for its International honors – and boy does the group heart David O Russell. This year his American Hustle is nominated in each of seven categories: Film, Direction, Screenplay and the four acting classes. Last american hustleyear, Silver Linings Playbook also led the way with mentions in all of the races, ultimately scoring five prizes including Film, Direction, Actress, and the supporting categories. Running a close second to American Hustle is Steve McQueen’s 12 Years A Slave with six nods. Captain Phillips, Gravity and Blue Jasmine each received three nominations. The Great Gatsby turned up again on this list for directing and for Oz-born supporting actor Joel Edgerton. Dallas Buyers Club and August: Osage County were nominated twice. Other movies receiving mentions include The Book Thief, Philomena, Fruitvale Station, Rush, Inside Llewyn Davis, Saving Mr Banks and The Wolf Of Wall Street. The AACTA International Awards will be held in Los Angeles on January 10th, 2014. Click over for the full list of nominees: Read More »

Comments (1)

‘Silver Linings Playbook’ Wins 5 Australian Academy Intl. Awards

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) today announced the winners of the 2nd AACTA International Awards, recognising international excellence across five categories: Best Film, Best Direction, Best Screenplay, Best Actor and Best Actress.

Winners were announced at the 2nd AACTA International Awards Ceremony in Los Angeles, with Oscar, BAFTA, Golden Globe and Australian Film Institute Award winning actor Russell Crowe leading a line-up of outstanding Australians presenting Awards at the Ceremony including, Jacki Weaver and Scott Hicks.

Funny, brave and humane, Silver Linings Playbook was the big winner at the AACTA International Awards, winning Best Film for producers Donna Gigliotti, Bruce Cohen and Jonathan Gordon; Best Direction for David O. Russell; and Best Lead Actress for Jennifer Lawrence. Additionally, two awards for Silver Linings Playbook determined by the Australian Film Institute | AACTA Board of Governors were presented to Robert De Niro as best supporting actor and to Jacki Weaver as best supporting actress.

The offbeat comic drama sees Lawrence playing a reckless young widow who befriends a bipolar schoolteacher (Bradley Cooper) who is obsessing about his ex-wife. Rounding out the film’s stellar cast are Robert De Niro, Jacki Weaver and Chris Tucker.

The AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actor was presented to Daniel Day-Lewis for his virtuosic performance as Abraham Lincoln in Steven Spielberg’s historical drama. Set in 1865, Lincoln centers on the final four months in the life of the 16th President of the United States, in which

Read More »

Comments (2)

Australian Academy: ‘Silver Linings Playbook,’ ‘Lincoln’ And ‘Zero Dark Thirty’ Top Nominations List

By | Tuesday January 8, 2013 @ 3:33am PST
Mike Fleming

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts announced nominees in five AACTA International Award categories, with The Weinstein Company’s Silver Linings Playbook leading the way with mentions in all five races. Winners will be announced in Los Angeles later this month: The nominees:

• Argo. Chris Terrio
• Django Unchained. Quentin Tarantino
• Lincoln. Tony Kushner
• The Master. Paul Thomas Anderson
• Silver Linings Playbook. David O. Russell
• Zero Dark Thirty. Mark Boal

• Argo. Ben Affleck
• Life Of Pi. Ang Lee
• Lincoln. Steven Spielberg
• The Sessions. Ben Lewin
• Silver Linings Playbook. David O. Russell
• Zero Dark Thirty. Kathryn Bigelow

• Bradley Cooper. Silver Linings Playbook
• Daniel Day-Lewis. Lincoln
• John Hawkes. The Sessions
• Hugh Jackman. Les Misérables
• Joaquin Phoenix. The Master
• Denzel Washington. Flight

• Jessica Chastain. Zero Dark Thirty
• Marion Cotillard. Rust and Bone
• Nicole Kidman. The Paperboy
• Jennifer Lawrence. Silver Linings Playbook
• Emmanuelle Riva. Amour
• Naomi Watts. The Impossible

• Argo. Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Grant Heslov
• Les Misérables. Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Debra Hayward, Cameron Mackintosh
• Life of Pi. Ang Lee, Gil Netter, David Womark
• Lincoln. Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg
• Silver Linings Playbook. Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon
• Zero Dark Thirty. Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Megan Ellison

Comments (4)