Check Out Our New Look

WGAW Incumbent President Chris Keyser Re-Elected

By | Tuesday September 17, 2013 @ 4:04pm PDT

The final results are in for the WGA West’s officers and Board of Director elections, and nothing has changed at the top. Why would it? The election had almost no challengers. With the voting period concluding yesterday at 12 PM, incumbent President Christopher Keyser, incumbent VP Howard A Rodman and incumbent Secretary-Treasurer Carl Gottlieb are all keeping their jobs. Pulling in 1,217 and 1,201 votes, respectively, for their positions, the unopposed Keyser and Rodman were re-elected with 100% of the vote. The nominee picked to run against Keyser turned the offer down, and VP challenger Timothy J Lea withdrew from the race. The little-know Keyser was first elected to the WGAW leadership two years ago when he defeated Patric Verrone. Although the guild’s constitution doesn’t permit unopposed races, it was still fulfilled, union sources tell me, because the second Presidential nominee declined and the second VP candidate did run even though he dropped out before the election. In the one Officers race where there was a challenger, Gottlieb drew 713 votes, or 53.2%, against Dan Wilcox’s 628 votes, or 46.8%. Incumbent Board members David S. Goyer and Billy Ray were re-elected. Joining them are newcomers Verrone, Karen Harris and Ari B. Rubin, as well as incumbents Alfredo Barrios, Jr. Carleton Eastlake and Thania St. John. Officers and Board members will serve two-year terms effective immediately. A total of 1,463 ballots were cast in this year’s rather … Read More »

Comments (11)

WGAW Unveils Initial 2013 Election Candidates: Incumbent President Chris Keyser Running Unopposed For Now

By | Friday June 21, 2013 @ 1:29pm PDT

There’s a big surprise today in the Writers Guild West‘s 2013 initial list of election candidates: the scribe selected to run against incumbent president Christopher Keyser declined the nomination. That means, unless someone else can be convinced to run, Keyser right now is running unopposed. He was a newcomer to WGAW leadership first elected two years ago when he defeated the polarizing Patric Verrone. Even back then, in 2011, few people stepped forward to run for the presidency: insiders told me that was because of great apathy. It seems nothing has changed even though the WGA constitution doesn’t allow for uncontested races:

Los Angeles – The Writers Guild of America, West’s Nominating Committees have announced the initial list of candidates for the 2013 WGAW Officers and Board of Directors election.

The Officer candidates are as follows: President* – Christopher Keyser (inc.); Vice President – Timothy J. Lea, Howard A. Rodman (inc.); Secretary-Treasurer – Dan Wilcox, Carl Gottlieb (inc.). (*The second nominee designated by the committee declined the nomination.)

There are 16 candidates nominated to run for eight open seats on the WGAW’s Board of Directors as follows: Thania St. John (inc.), Andrew Goldberg, Cynthia Riddle, Ari B. Rubin, Carleton Eastlake (inc.), Nancy Miller, Jonathan Fernandez, Henry Alonso Myers, Patric M. Verrone, Billy Ray (inc.), Alfredo Barrios, Jr. (inc.), Flint Dille, Lee Aronsohn, David Maples, Karen Harris, David S. Goyer (inc.).

Read More »

Comments (19)

Writers Guild West Candidates For 2011 Officers And Board Of Directors Election

LOS ANGELES – The Writers Guild of America, West’s nominating committees have announced the initial list of candidates for the 2011 WGAW Officers and Board of Directors election.

The officer candidates are as follows: President – Patric M. Verrone, Christopher Keyser; Vice President – Howard A. Rodman, John Aboud; Secretary-Treasurer – David N. Weiss (inc.), Carl Gottlieb.

There are 17 candidates nominated to run for eight open seats on the WGAW’s Board of Directors as follows: Anthony Sparks, Dan Wilcox (inc.), Michael Oates Palmer, Thania St. John, Ari B. Rubin, Nelson Soler, Billy Ray (inc.), Linda Burstyn (inc.), Mark Alton Brown, David S. Goyer, Barbara E. Nance, Alfredo Barrios, Jr., John Brancato, Ian Deitchman (inc.), Nell Scovell, Jay Kogen, Carleton Eastlake (inc.).

Note to editors: WGAW internal rules require candidates to be announced in an order determined by lot; (inc.) denotes an incumbent candidate.

In addition to the candidates selected by the nominating committees, eligible members may also be nominated by petition. Members seeking nomination for the office of President, Vice President, or Secretary-Treasurer must obtain 50 member signatures in support of their petitions. Members seeking nomination for the Board of Directors must obtain 25 member signatures in support of their petitions. The deadline for submitting signed petitions to the WGAW is 12:00 p.m. (PDT) on Friday, July 22. Members may submit online nomination petitions by visiting the members-only section of the WGAW’s website at:

The WGAW will host its annual Candidates Night town-hall forum, at which Guild members may meet and pose questions to their Officer and BOD candidates, on Wednesday, August 31, at WGAW headquarters in Los Angeles.

Read More »

Comments (12)

Writers Guild, West, 2010 Election Results

LOS ANGELES – The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) has announced the results of its 2010 WGAW Board of Directors election. The following eight members were elected to the WGAW’s Board of Directors: Robin Schiff (754 votes), Katherine Fugate (749 votes), Aaron Mendelsohn (741 votes), David A. Goodman (740 votes), Kathy Kiernan (691 votes), Christopher Keyser (610 votes), David Shore (554 votes), Mark Gunn (519 votes).

Fugate, Goodman, Gunn, Kiernan, and Mendelsohn are incumbents. Board members will serve a two-year term, effective immediately.

Results for the nine remaining Board of Directors candidates were: Matthew Weiner (507 votes), Karen Harris (463 votes), Timothy J. Lea (376 votes), Cheryl Heuton (290 votes), Naomi Foner (273 votes), Mick Betancourt (257 votes), Erica Montolfo (143 votes), Erich Hoeber (132 votes), Matt Pyken (111 votes). (Note: Steve Skrovan withdrew his candidacy after the final slate of WGAW BOD candidates was previously announced in July.)

A total of 1,273 valid ballots were cast. The ballot count was supervised by Robbin Johnson of Pacific Election Services, Inc., an independent firm.

Comments (8)