Check Out Our New Look

ABC Buys 2 Projects From Feature Writers

By | Wednesday August 24, 2011 @ 4:05pm PDT
Nellie Andreeva

In the latest round of script buying, ABC has picked up two projects from feature auspices — a comedy from Friends With Benefits writers Keith Merryman and David Newman, which is executive produced by Mark Gordon, and a drama from Changing Lanes scribe Michael Tolkin, which is executive produced by Lorenzo Di Bonaventura. ABC TV Studios, where Di Bonaventura and Gordon’s companies are based, is producing. This marks the first sale for Di Bonaventura Pictures Television, Di Bonaventura’s partnership with Dan McDermott launched in June.

Merryman and Newman’s Status Update is a single-camera ensemble comedy about a woman who is re-entering the world of dating armed with the influences of new technology and the various opinions of her friends and family. Gordon and Andrea Shay executive produce, with Merryman and Newman co-executive producing. In addition to co-writing with Will Gluck the Justin Timberlake/Mila Kunis comedy Friends With Benefits, Merryman and Newman, repped by APA and Circle of Confusion, also recently penned the movie Think Like a Man, which just wrapped principal photography, as well as a rewrite on Walden Media’s Mother’s Day.

The untitled Michael Tolkin/David Zabel project, which has Tolkin set to write and former ER showrunner Zabel attached as showrunner, is a drama about a complex female ADA in San Francisco who runs against her boss and becomes the new DA. … Read More »

Comments (11)

Movie Academy Elects 4 First-Time Governors, Returns 7 Incumbents

Beverly Hills, CA – Cinematographer Richard P. Crudo, producer Gale Anne Hurd, composer David Newman, and film editor Michael Tronick make up this year’s first-time electees to Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Board of Governors. In addition, seven incumbents were reelected and three other motion picture professionals will return to the Board after a time away. The reelected governors are Craig Barron, Visual Effects; Annette Bening, Actors; Don Hall, Sound; Jeffrey Kurland, Art Directors; John Lasseter, Short Films and Feature Animation; Robert Rehme, Executives; and Phil Robinson, Writers.

Returning to the board after a hiatus are Michael Apted, Documentary; Cheryl Boone Isaacs, Public Relations; and Paul Mazursky, Directors.  Apted previously served from 2002 to 2009.  Isaacs served from 1988 to 1997 and again from 2000 to 2009. Mazursky was on the board from 1997 to 2000 and again from 2006 to 2009.

Read More »

Comments (1)