Check Out Our New Look

Gotham Awards: ‘Tree Of Life,’ ‘Beginners’ Share Kudos For Best Feature

Mike Fleming

Terrence Malick’s The Tree of Life and Mike Mills’ Beginners shared the best feature award at Monday night’s 21st Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards. Other nominees for Best Feature were nominees were The Descendants, Meek’s Cutoff and Take Shelter. Girlfriend won the audience award and Dee Rees was named breakthrough director for Pariah. Mike Mills’ Beginners took best ensemble performance, and the prize for Best Film Not Seen In A Theater Near You went to Scenes of A Crime. Those filmmakers win a week’s run at Cinema Village in New York City. The win by Beginners was a big surprise as the movie bested the higher profile The Descendants, Jeff Nichols’ Take Shelter and Martha Marcy May Marlene. Best documentary was Better This World. Breakthrough Actor Award went to Felicity Jones for Like Crazy. Event took place at Cipriani on Wall Street.

Complete list of winners:
Best Feature / Tie
Directed by Mike Mills
Produced by Leslie Urdang, Dean Vanech, Miranda de Pencier, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen
Released by Focus Features
Directed by Terrence Malick
Produced by Sarah Green, Bill Pohlad, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Grant Hill
Released by Fox Searchlight
The Best Feature Jury included: Anne Carey, Jodie Foster, Nicole Kidman, Lee Percy, and Natalie Portman
Best Documentary
Directed and produced by Katie Galloway and Kelly Duane de la Vega
Produced by Mike Nicholson
The Best Documentary Jury included: Jonathan Caouette, Keiko Deguchi, Rachel Grady, Chris Hegedus and Stanley Nelson 

Breakthrough Director Award

Read More »

Comments (7)

Edie Falco & Oliver Platt To Co-Host Gotham Awards

Gotham Awards: ‘The Descendants’, ‘Martha Marcy May Marlene’, ‘Beginners’ And ‘Take Shelter’ Lead Nominations

New York, NY (November 9, 2011) – The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP), the nation’s oldest and largest organization of independent filmmakers announced today that award winning actors, Oliver Platt and Edie Falco, will serve as co-hosts of the IFP’s Gotham Independent Film Awards™ show on Monday, November 28th, 2011 in New York City. Also announced today are the Top 5 nominees for the Gotham Independent Film Audience Award. First round voting took place from October 18th to November 2nd and comprised 29 audience awards winning films from the top 50 US and Canadian film festivals. Round two voting began on November 7th to select a final winner and ends on November 20th at 11:59 pm EST. Filmgoers can vote online for their favorite film at The Top 5 Nominees for the 2nd Annual Gotham Independent Film Audience Award powered by Festival Genius are:


Director/Producer: Justin Lerner

Producers: Jerad Anderson, Kristina Lauren Anderson, Shaun O’Banion


Director: Cindy Meehl

Producer: Julie Goldman


Director/Producer: Constance Marks

Co-Director/Writer/Editor: Philip Shane

Producer: Corinne LaPook

Producer/Cinematographer: James Miller


Directors/Producers Alex Dawson and Greg Gricus


Director: Justin Chadwick

Producers: Sam Feuer, Richard Harding, David M. Thompson

Comments (0)