Check Out Our New Look

Gotham Awards To Honor Marion Cotillard

By | Tuesday October 9, 2012 @ 9:21am PDT

New York, NY (October 9, 2012) – The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP), the nation’s oldest and largest organization for independent filmmakers, announced today that Oscar Award™ winning Actor, Marion Cotillard will be honored with a career tribute at the 22nd Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards™ on Monday, November 26th at Cipriani Wall Street, in New York City. The French actress joins previously announced Tributes Actor, Matt Damon; Director, David O. Russell and Philanthropist and Social Entrepreneur, Jeff Skoll being honored at the 2012 Gothams.

Comments (0)

Edie Falco & Oliver Platt To Co-Host Gotham Awards

Gotham Awards: ‘The Descendants’, ‘Martha Marcy May Marlene’, ‘Beginners’ And ‘Take Shelter’ Lead Nominations

New York, NY (November 9, 2011) – The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP), the nation’s oldest and largest organization of independent filmmakers announced today that award winning actors, Oliver Platt and Edie Falco, will serve as co-hosts of the IFP’s Gotham Independent Film Awards™ show on Monday, November 28th, 2011 in New York City. Also announced today are the Top 5 nominees for the Gotham Independent Film Audience Award. First round voting took place from October 18th to November 2nd and comprised 29 audience awards winning films from the top 50 US and Canadian film festivals. Round two voting began on November 7th to select a final winner and ends on November 20th at 11:59 pm EST. Filmgoers can vote online for their favorite film at The Top 5 Nominees for the 2nd Annual Gotham Independent Film Audience Award powered by Festival Genius are:


Director/Producer: Justin Lerner

Producers: Jerad Anderson, Kristina Lauren Anderson, Shaun O’Banion


Director: Cindy Meehl

Producer: Julie Goldman


Director/Producer: Constance Marks

Co-Director/Writer/Editor: Philip Shane

Producer: Corinne LaPook

Producer/Cinematographer: James Miller


Directors/Producers Alex Dawson and Greg Gricus


Director: Justin Chadwick

Producers: Sam Feuer, Richard Harding, David M. Thompson

Comments (0)

‘Winter’s Bone’ Wins Big At Gotham Awards

The winners for the 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards were announced tonight. The awards organized by the Independent Feature Project already announced the recipients of their honorary awards handed out this evening, including filmmaker Darren Aronofsky, actors Hilary Swank and Robert Duvall, and Focus Features CEO James Schamus. Tonight’s marquee category awards at Cipriani Wall Street in NYC are considered the first major ceremony of the awards season:

Best Feature
Winter’s Bone
Debra Granik, director; Anne Rosellini, Alix Madigan-Yorkin, producers (Roadside Attractions)

Best Documentary
The Oath
Laura Poitras, director/producer (Zeitgeist Films and American Documentary/POV)

Best Ensemble Performance
Winter’s Bone
Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Kevin Breznahan (Roadside Attractions)

Breakthrough Director

Kevin Asch for Holy Rollers (First Independent Pictures)

Breakthrough Actor
Ronald Bronstein
in Daddy Longlegs (IFC Films)

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You

Mike Ott, director; Frederick Thornton, Laura Ragsdale, Sierra Leoni, producers

Comments (14)

Gotham Indie Awards Fete Actor Foursome

Mike Fleming



New York, NY (September 30, 2010) – The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP), the nation’s oldest and largest organization of independent filmmakers, announced today that director Darren Aronofsky, actors Hilary Swank and Robert Duvall, and Focus Features CEO, James Schamus, will each be presented with a career Tribute at the 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards on Monday, November 29th at Cipriani Wall Street, New York, New York.

This year’s Tribute selection represents a range of individuals – all veterans well-versed in the journey between lower-budget independent films and large-scale studio releases.  In addition, the honorees represent some of the most critically acclaimed and highly anticipated films including: Get Low from Sony Pictures Classics (directed by Aaron Schneider and featuring Robert Duvall); the upcoming Fox Searchlight release Conviction (directed by Tony Goldwyn and featuring Hilary Swank); Black Swan from Fox Searchlight (directed by Darren Aronofsky); and Focus Features’ The Kids are All Right (James Schamus, CEO).

Comments (0)

Gotham Indie Awards Skedded Nov. 29

By | Wednesday August 4, 2010 @ 12:07pm PDT
Mike Fleming

Put November 29th on the calender, because that’s this year’s date for the IFP’s Gotham Independent Film Awards. The annual event will once again be held at Cipriani Wall Street. They’re adding a new award, The Festival Genius Audience Award, which will be bestowed through an online voting system.

Comments (0)