Check Out Our New Look

Nick Kroll To Host 23rd Gotham Awards

By | Wednesday October 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm PDT

The Kroll Show star’s next persona will be awards show guy. Nick Kroll has been tapped to host the IFP’s 23rd annual Gotham Independent Film Awards on December 2 in NYC. Kroll co-stars on FXX’s The League as well as leading his Comedy Central sketch show, on which he embodies numerous characters. Kroll also took part in the recent James Franco roast on Comedy Central.

Related: Gotham Award Nominations Announced

Comments (4)

IFP Gotham Award Noms: ‘Bernie,’ ‘Loneliest Planet,’ ‘The Master,’ ‘Middle Of Nowhere’ And ‘Moonrise Kingdom’ Up For Best Picture

By | Thursday October 18, 2012 @ 7:02am PDT
Mike Fleming

New York, NY (October 18, 2012) – The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP), the nation’s oldest and largest organization of independent filmmakers announced today the nominees for the Gotham Independent Film Awards™. Signaling the kick-off to the film awards season, IFP’s Gotham Independent Film Awards™ nominations were given to a total of 26 films across six competitive categories for Best Feature, Best Documentary, Breakthrough Director, Breakthrough Actor, Best Ensemble Performance, and Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You.

The Gotham Awards ceremony will be held on Monday, November 26th at Cipriani Wall Street. In addition to the competitive awards, actors Marion Cotillard and Matt Damon, director David O. Russell, and Participant Media founder Jeff Skoll will each be presented with a career tribute.

As the first major awards ceremony of the film season, the Gotham Independent Film Awards™ provide critical early recognition and media attention to worthy independent films. Previous winners for Best Feature and Best Documentary include BEGINNERS (2011), THE TREE OF LIFE (2011), BETTER THIS WORLD (2011), WINTER’S BONE (2010), THE OATH (2010), THE HURT LOCKER (2009), and FOOD, INC. (2009). The awards are also unique for their ability to assist in catapulting award recipients prominently into national awards season attention, including recent winners and ultimate Oscar® contenders: feature winners BEGINNERS (2011), TREE OF LIFE (2011), WINTER’S BONE (2010) and THE HURT LOCKER (2009); Breakthrough Actors Melissa Leo (2008), Ellen Page (2007), Rinko Kikuchi (2006) and Amy Adams (2005).

The nominations for the 2012 Gotham Independent Film Awards are:

Best Feature

Bernie, Richard Linklater, director; Richard Linklater, Ginger Sledge, Celine Rattray, Martin Shafer, Liz Glotzer, Matt Williams, David McFadzean, Judd Payne, Dete Meserve, producers (Millennium Entertainment)

The Loneliest Planet, Julia Loktev, director; Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Helge Albers, Marie Therese Guirgis, producers (Sundance Selects)

The Master, Paul Thomas Anderson, director; Joanne Sellar, Daniel Lupi, Paul Thomas Anderson, Megan Ellison, producers (The Weinstein Company)

Middle of Nowhere, Ava DuVernay, director; Howard Barish, Ava DuVernay, Paul Garnes, producers (AFFRM and Participant Media)

Moonrise Kingdom, Wes Anderson, director; Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Steven Rales, Jeremy Dawson, producers (Focus Features)

Read More »

Comments (5)

IFP Gotham Awards Submission Deadline Is September 14

By | Thursday August 2, 2012 @ 7:23am PDT
Mike Fleming

Wow, is it awards season already? The first awards of the season, IFP’s Gotham Independent Film Awards, has been set for November 26, once again in the cavernous Cipriani’s at Wall Street. Below are the deadlines for submissions.

New York, NY (August 2, 2012) –Independent Filmmaker Project®, the nation’s oldest and largest organization of independent filmmakers, today announced that the 22nd Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards™ will take place this year again at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City, on Monday, November 26th.

The first award show of the season, the Gotham Independent Film Awards™ honor independently distributed American feature films made with an economy of means. Established in 1991, the Gotham Independent Film Awards™ celebrate the authentic voices behind and in front of the camera in the year’s best independent films.

The Gothams provide critical early recognition to worthy independent films. Past winners include BEGINNERS (2011), THE TREE OF LIFE (2011), WINTER’S BONE (2010), THE HURT LOCKER (2009), FROZEN RIVER (2008), INTO THE WILD (2007) and HALF NELSON (2006), all of which went on to numerous awards and Oscar™ nominations for – Christopher Plummer, Terrence Malick, Debra Granik, Kathryn Bigelow, Melissa Leo, Sean Penn, and Ryan Gosling, respectively.

Each year IFP chooses a jury of 25 innovators and icons in documentary and feature directing, producing, cinematography, and acting to bestow six competitive awards, Best Feature, Best Documentary, Best Ensemble Performance, Breakthrough Director, Breakthrough Actor and Best Film Not Playing

Read More »

Comments (0)