Check Out Our New Look

Oscar Winner James L. Brooks Inks With WME

By | Tuesday July 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm PDT

Oscar Winner James L. Brooks Inks With WMEJames L Brooks, who created iconic TV series including The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Taxi and The Simpsons and who three Oscars as writer, director and producer of Terms Of Endearment, has inked with WME. The 20-time Emmy winner is founder of Simpsons producer Gracie Films and has 10 Academy Award nominations overall including for writing and producing Broadcast News (1987), producing Jerry Maguire (1996) and producing and co-writing As Good As It Gets (1997). He will continue to be represented by Sam Fischer at Ziffren Brittenham.

WME also recently signed writer-producers Ian Goldberg (Once Upon A Time) and Patrick Harbinson (Homeland).

Comments (6)

NATPE Chief Promises More Digital, Buyers, Exhibitors, Station Groups, And Advertisers — Plus Phil Rosenthal Quizzing James L. Brooks — At January Confab

Registration for both domestic and international buyers attending January’s 2014 NATPE conference in Miami Beach is pacing well ahead of andy-cohenlast year, with double digit growth, NATPE president and CEO Rod Perth said this morning,  citing more exhibitors, more buyers, advertisers, more stations groups, and a more prominent digital presence. Forty-four percent of the registered buyers are international, representing 46 different countries, and 28 station groups are participating this time, Perth said on a conference call with the press. At last count, there were 225 exhibitors — 34 of them attending NATPE for the first time, and five returning in January after years of absence, said Perth, who is in his second year at NATPE. For the second year in a row, each of the major studios will be at NATPE.  Exhibitors, meanwhile, come from 23 different countries, including increased participation from the UK, France, Spain and Germany, he said.

Oscar and Emmy-winning director/producer James L. Brooks will chat with Everybody Loves Phil-RosenthalRaymond creator Phil Rosenthal in a session at NATPE, joining Bravo’s Andy Cohen, Friends co-creator Marta Kauffman, documentarian Morgan Spurlock, and Boardwalk Empire exec producer Terence Winter in sessions staged during the confab’s The Storytellers Who Have Shaped Pop Culture track. Brooks is among those receiving the 11th annual Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award at the NATPE conference, held again at the Fontainebleau Resort in Miami Beach. New to NATPE, there will be a presentation of findings from a two-part independent research study commissioned by NATPE and the Consumer Electronics Association, in re how how and why consumers use second-screen devices to engage with video content. The first part of the findings will be presented at the 2014 International CES, where the focus will be primarily on technology, devices and the user experience. The second part, which will be presented at NATPE, will consist of qualitative research based on interviews with TV program producers and showrunners, examining how second screen affects the way they develop content and incorporate it into their programs.

From today’s NATPE announcement: Read More »

Comments (0)

James L. Brooks, Jon Feltheimer, Lauren Zalaznick and Emilio Azcárraga Jean To Receive NATPE Tartikoff Award

By | Monday September 23, 2013 @ 12:04pm PDT

Grupo Televisa head Emilio Azcárraga Jean, veteran producer James L. Brooks, Lionsgate CEO Jon Feltheimer and NBCUniversal exec Lauren Zalaznick will receive the 11th annual Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award at next year’s NATPE conference. “We are honored to celebrate this extraordinary group of talented people who have made such remarkable contributions to the world of media,” said Perth. “We’ve chosen each of them because they’ve raised the bar of achievement, and are some of the absolute best in their fields of our business”, said NATPE President & CEO Rod Perth today in a statement. The Tartikoff Award is intended to recognize TV professionals “who exhibit extraordinary passion, leadership, independence and vision in the process of creating television programming”. The 2014 TV Market and Conference is set for January 27-29 at the Fontainebleau Resort in Miami Beach.

Comments (1)

James L. Brooks’ Gracie Films Buys ‘Besties’ Spec

By | Wednesday March 30, 2011 @ 2:55pm PDT
Mike Fleming

James L. Brooks’ Gracie Films has made a mid six-figure preemptive deal for Besties, a spec script by Kelly Fremon. Part of the deal is she’s attached to make her directing debut. The script is a John Hughes-style comedy about two high school girls who are best friends until one dates the other’s older brother, who is totally his sister’s nemesis. Brooks was the first person the script got sent to, and he’s expected to mentor Fremon as she makes the jump to director. Gracie made the buy, but the company’s films go through Sony Pictures. Brooks will produce with Julie Ansell.

As a writer, Fremon has one produced feature credit, the 2009 Fox Searchlight comedy Post Grad. She has also written The Good Life, another script for Searchlight, and The Best Mistakes for Level 1. On the small screen, Fremon wrote the pilot  Lovehamption for the CW and Alloy Entertainment and she’s working on a pilot script with CBS Television Studios and Samuel L. Jackson’s Uppity TV banner. ICM and Kaplan Perrone made the deal.

Comments 36

Hot Trailer: ‘How Do You Know’

Mike Fleming

James L. Brooks is back with How Do You Know, a relationship comedy from Sony Pictures that reunites Brooks with Jack Nicholson. Reese Witherspoon, Paul Rudd and Owen Wilson also star. The film opens December 17.

Comments 38

Tom Sherak Re-Elected AMPAS President

Mike Fleming

It was hardly a cliffhanger, but Tom Sherak was reelected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. He was voted in last night by the Academy Board of Governors along with Sid Ganis (first vice president), James L. Brooks, (vice president) Phil Robinson (vice president), Hawk Koch (treasurer) and Annette Bening (secretary). Sherak’s first term was marked by the Academy’s controversial decision to expand the Best Picture category to 10 films, for which Sherak was a proponent. While widening the field gave some extra attention to films like District 9, The Blind Side, Inglourious Basterds and Up In The Air, the extra five films were not at all a factor in what really became a two-horse race between Avatar and Best Picture winner The Hurt Locker. Read More »

Comments (3)