Fox And Davis Entertainment Acquires ‘Cardiac’ Spec

By | Tuesday April 24, 2012 @ 12:04pm PDT
Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: 20th Century Fox-based Davis Entertainment has acquired Cardiac, a spec script by Lars Jacobson. Script is a taut action thriller in the vein of Taken and Safe House, involving a father who has six hours to find the criminals that have stolen a heart intended for his daughter’s transplant … Read More »

Comments (4)

Fox Sets Scribe Team McCullah & Smith For ’29′

By | Tuesday January 24, 2012 @ 2:03pm PST
Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: 20th Century Fox has hired Karen McCullah & Kirsten Smith to adapt 29, the novel by Adena Halpern. John Davis is producing. The book is a high concept comedy about an elderly woman who wakes up in the body … Read More »

Comments 20

Fox Acquires Action Pitch ‘Riders On The Storm’

Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: 20th Century Fox had acquired Riders On The Storm, a pitch for an action film that will be written by Sean O’Keefe. The story follows a sophisticated heist crew that pulls off high-end robberies during severe weather events. The … Read More »

Comments 24

John Davis Acquires Myra McEntire Novel ‘Hourglass’

By | Thursday October 27, 2011 @ 12:54pm PDT
Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: Fox and producer John Davis have acquired feature rights to Myra McEntire’s debut novel Hourglass. Published by Egmont, the novel is catching on with a youthful female demographic. It’s a time-slip romance about a teen girl plagued by visions … Read More »

Comments (5)

Universal To Remake ‘Phasma Ex Machina’ With ‘Cup Of Tears’ Helmer Gary Shore

By | Thursday August 11, 2011 @ 9:14am PDT
Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: Universal Pictures has acquired remake rights to Phasma ex Machina, the small independent feature directing debut by Matt Osterman that was the toast of the genre film festival circuit. The studio acquired the project as a pitch for a horror movie called Our House, and the studio has attached Gary Shore to direct the remake and Nathan Parker to write it. John Davis is the producer along with Nick Spicer of XYZ Films. Shore and Parkers are already collaborating on a feature version of Cup of Tears for Universal and Working Title, based on the stylized samurai short film that Shore directed. That short has created heat and prompted Universal to make several deals with him.  I’m told that the hope is for Shore to direct Phasma ex Machina, potentially follow with an adaptation of the James Patterson book series Maximum Ride, and then helm a feature version of Cup of Tears. Read More »

Comments (15)

Jim Carrey Will Star With Penguins For Fox

Who doesn’t love penguins? Hollywood may not be sure how popular Jim Carrey is these days as a regular guy in live action motion pictures, but the world sure loves the little tuxedoed guys. Everyone from Jack Black to … Read More »

Comments 22