Check Out Our New Look

Fox And Davis Entertainment Acquires ‘Cardiac’ Spec

By | Tuesday April 24, 2012 @ 12:04pm PDT
Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: 20th Century Fox-based Davis Entertainment has acquired Cardiac, a spec script by Lars Jacobson. Script is a taut action thriller in the vein of Taken and Safe House, involving a father who has six hours to find the criminals that have stolen a heart intended for his daughter’s transplant surgery.

John Davis and John Fox are producing for Davis Entertainment, which most recently produced the sleeper hit Chronicle.

The scribe previously sold the spec C.O.D. to Paramount. He is represented by CAA and manager Brian Lutz.

Comments (4)

Fox Sets Scribe Team McCullah & Smith For ’29′

By | Tuesday January 24, 2012 @ 2:03pm PST
Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: 20th Century Fox has hired Karen McCullah & Kirsten Smith to adapt 29, the novel by Adena Halpern. John Davis is producing. The book is a high concept comedy about an elderly woman who wakes up in the body of her 29-year old self and finally has the chance to do things right. McCullah & Smith’s credits include Legally Blonde and The House Bunny. In addition to solo projects, they are scripting Love It Or Leave It for Chockstone Pictures, which they are producing with Seth Jaret and Steve Schwartz, Paula Mae Schwartz and Roger Schwartz. The scribes are repped by Paradigm and manager Seth Jaret.

Comments 20

Fox Acquires Action Pitch ‘Riders On The Storm’

Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: 20th Century Fox had acquired Riders On The Storm, a pitch for an action film that will be written by Sean O’Keefe. The story follows a sophisticated heist crew that pulls off high-end robberies during severe weather events. The deal was worth mid-six figures. Davis Entertainment’s John Davis and John Fox are producing with Richard Leibowitz of Union Entertainment. The project originated as a video game concept hatched by Richard Wickliffe.

Union Entertainment was going to turn it into a vidgame, but instead it morphed into the feature pitch that had several studios interested when ICM pitched it. O’Keefe split up with writing partner Will Staples, but they are working together on a rewrite of the Lorenzo Carcaterra novel Apaches for Jerry Bruckheimer and Disney. They also wrote World’s Most Wanted for Neal Moritz and Universal and an Alaskan adventure movie for Walden Media and producer Mark Johnson. O’Keefe is managed by Brian Lutz.

Comments 24

John Davis Acquires Myra McEntire Novel ‘Hourglass’

By | Thursday October 27, 2011 @ 12:54pm PDT
Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: Fox and producer John Davis have acquired feature rights to Myra McEntire’s debut novel Hourglass. Published by Egmont, the novel is catching on with a youthful female demographic. It’s a time-slip romance about a teen girl plagued by visions of the past, who meets a handsome stranger who can see the future. Together they travel through time and find action, adventure and romance. Davis will produce, and Magnet Management’s Brandy Rivers and Mitch Solomon will be exec producers. The acquisition was made from Davis’ discretionary fund.

Comments (5)

Universal To Remake ‘Phasma Ex Machina’ With ‘Cup Of Tears’ Helmer Gary Shore

By | Thursday August 11, 2011 @ 9:14am PDT
Mike Fleming

EXCLUSIVE: Universal Pictures has acquired remake rights to Phasma ex Machina, the small independent feature directing debut by Matt Osterman that was the toast of the genre film festival circuit. The studio acquired the project as a pitch for a horror movie called Our House, and the studio has attached Gary Shore to direct the remake and Nathan Parker to write it. John Davis is the producer along with Nick Spicer of XYZ Films. Shore and Parkers are already collaborating on a feature version of Cup of Tears for Universal and Working Title, based on the stylized samurai short film that Shore directed. That short has created heat and prompted Universal to make several deals with him.  I’m told that the hope is for Shore to direct Phasma ex Machina, potentially follow with an adaptation of the James Patterson book series Maximum Ride, and then helm a feature version of Cup of Tears. Read More »

Comments (15)

Jim Carrey Will Star With Penguins For Fox

Who doesn’t love penguins? Hollywood may not be sure how popular Jim Carrey is these days as a regular guy in live action motion pictures, but the world sure loves the little tuxedoed guys. Everyone from Jack Black to Owen Wilson to Ben Stiller  (with Greenberg filmmaker Noah Baumbach) has circled the project. But now 20th Century Fox has set Carrey in the film adaptation of everybody’s favorite kids’ book Mr. Popper’s Penguins, and I hear the studio got him cheap. John Davis is producing, Mark Waters (Mean Girls but also The Spiderwick Chronicles) is directing, with Jared Stern writing the latest version of a script by Sean Anders & John Morris.

Carrey should be able to play the part without masking his face, for once. The movie version takes the book into an upscale direction: a high-powered businessman suddenly inherits six penguins. As he gets acquainted with – and increasingly attached to – his winged roommates, Popper’s life quickly unravels: his swanky New York apartment is turned into a snowy winter wonderland, the deal he’s long been working on is derailed, and he almost lands in jail. ”But thanks to his new charges, Popper comes to understand the importance of family – human and otherwise,” according to the logline. However, the book, originally published in 1938 and written by Richard & Florence Atwater, tells the story of a modest house painter who receives a penguin in … Read More »

Comments 22