Check Out Our New Look

UPDATE: SAG-AFTRA Elects ‘90210’ Actress Gabrielle Carteris EVP

By | Thursday September 26, 2013 @ 12:35pm PDT

UPDATE, 12:35PM: Gabrielle Carteris has been elected SAG-AFTRA’s new Executive Vice President at the union’s convention today. The Beverly Hills, 90210 actress and former LA Local co-President beat NY Local president Mike Hodge and last-minute candidate Jane Austin for the powerful union position voted on by delegates. (UPDATE 4:13 - A total of 303 ballots were cast in the race say SAG-AFTRA. Carteris received 66.5% of the vote from the delegates while Hodge received 23.22% and Austin pulled 10.28%. In a separate vote, Hodge was elected to a National VP position along with 6 others) Recently elected National Secretary-Treasurer Amy Aquino was among those who spoke in favor of Carteris to the delegates. The result may not sit that well with union President Ken Howard, who threw his support very publicly behind Hodge. Carteris was endorsed by former SAG-AFTRA co-President Roberta Reardon. The convention continues until September 29 and will be followed by a two-day National Board meeting.

Read More »

Comments (6)

SAG-AFTRA Prez Ken Howard Endorses NY Local Exec For Union EVP Slot

By | Friday September 20, 2013 @ 7:59pm PDT

With just under a week to go before the election for the influential EVP position at SAG-AFTRA‘s first national convention since merging, National President Ken Howard today threw his weight behind NY local President Mike Hodge for the slot. Recently re-elected to his East Coast position, Hodge becomes the second formal candidate for the EVP job. Earlier this week, former AFTRA LA local President Gabrielle Carteris threw her hat in the ring. She is endorsed by former National Co-President Roberta Reardon, who narrowly lost her bid to be NY local president to incumbent Hodge in last month’s local elections. Prior that loss, Reardon was widely expected to run for the national EVP slot. Hodge had endorsed Howard for National President in last month’s SAG-AFTRA election, and Howard in turn backed Hodge and his slate in NY. “Mike Hodge is someone I’ve counted on for strong, steady leadership from the very start of my union service, and he has never failed to deliver,” Howard said in a statement. “I’m tremendously impressed with the way he’s handled things in New York, and it’s important that our national union have leadership that reflects our national footprint. Mike is an independent thinker who members can trust to put the interests of our union first.” The EVP election, voted on by the union’s recently elected delegates, … Read More »

Comments (7)

SAG-AFTRA Reveals New York Local Election Results

By | Friday August 16, 2013 @ 1:44am PDT

After announcing the re-election of Ken Howard as National President, and unveiling the results of its Los Angeles local balloting, the union just made the New York vote public. Mike Hodge has been elected New York President. Of the win, he said: “I want to express my sincere thanks to all the members who made their voices heard by voting in our historic first SAG-AFTRA election. It was a vigorous campaign and I’m grateful that NY members have elected me to lead our local. I’m eager to work with the new board to continue building a strong future for all the entertainment and media professionals we represent.” New York was the 25th and last of the SAG-AFTRA locals to be announced. See the full results after the jump:

SAG-AFTRA Reveals Los Angeles Local Election Results
SAG-AFTRA Exec Director’s Pay & Its Funds In Trust Up Fiscal ’12
SAG-AFTRA Fires Back In $110M Foreign Residuals Lawsuit

Read More »

Comments (0)

USAN Unveils Pro-Merger SAG Slate

United Screen Actors Nationwide has unveiled its slate of candidates for SAG’s National and New York Division elections. The group includes incumbents Ken Howard as National President, Amy Aquino as National Secretary Treasurer, Mike Hodge as NY Division President as well as 11 names for the national and New York boards. The USAN faction of the guild backs the SAG-AFTRA merger, a formal plan for which is due to the national boards in January 2012. The 2011 board candidates include comedian and first-time candidate Lewis Black. The other names: Manny Alfaro, Dave Bachman, Marc Baron, Mark Blum, Rebecca Damon, Traci Godfrey, Ezra Knight, Jay Potter, John Rothman and Kevin Scullin. Said Black: “I’m running with USAN for a simple reason: They are committed to uniting SAG and AFTRA and I want to help them make it happen.” Ballots for the election are due out next month, with results expected in September.

Comments (6)

SAG: Unite For Strength’s Ned Vaughn To Lead Hollywood Division

Unite For Strength’s Ned Vaughn replaced Membership First’s Anne-Marie Johnson who chose not to run for re-election when her party lost control of SAG’s Hollywood Division (Anne-Marie Johnson Ends SAG Hollywood Term: Bemoans Guild’s “Fading Legacy”):

Los Angeles (Oct. 18, 2010) – The Screen Actors Guild Hollywood Division Board of Directors and New York Division Board of Directors today elected the union’s 1st vice president and 2nd vice president.

The Hollywood Division Board elected Ned Vaughn to the position of 1st vice president of Screen Actors Guild. The 1st vice president also serves as chair of the Hollywood Division Board. The New York Division Board re-elected Division President Mike Hodge to the position of Screen Actors Guild 2nd vice president.

1st Vice President Ned Vaughn said, “I am honored to serve Screen Actors Guild as 1st vice president and privileged to represent the members here in Hollywood. Our recent board election made it clear: Hollywood members overwhelmingly want performers in one union, not divided in two. I’ll work hard to advance that goal and to make progress in every aspect of protecting our members.”

New York Division President and 2nd Vice President Mike Hodge said, “It is an incredible honor to serve New York Division members of Screen Actors Guild. I look forward to another year of productive service and

Read More »

Comments (11)