Robert Towne To Be Honored By USC Libraries

By | Thursday January 23, 2014 @ 12:54pm PST

LACMA & Warner Bros. Presents "An Evening With Clint Eastwood" - ArrivalsThe Friends of the USC Libraries is the org that bestows the annual Scripter Award honoring the year’s best adapted screenplay and the author of the original work on which it is based. It also is giving Robert Towne the 2014 USC Libraries Literary Achievement Award. Both honors will be bestowed February 8. LA native Towne is best known for penning the original script for Chinatown, which won him an Oscar in 1975. His adapted screenplay credits though include John Fante’s Ask The Dust, Daniel Ponicsan’s The Last Detail and Edgar Rice Burroughs’ Greystoke: The Legend Of Tarzan. He also was the script doctor who polished Bonnie And Clyde, The Godfather and Heaven Can Wait among others. He recently was recruited to join the writing staff for the upcoming seventh and final season of AMC’s Mad Men. Read More »

Comments (0)

USC Scripter Award Finalists Announced

By | Thursday January 9, 2014 @ 8:11am PST

ScripterAward__130115194941-200x125The authors and screenwriters of Captain Phillips, Philomena, The Spectacular Now, 12 Years A Slave and What Maisie Knew have been named finalists for the 26th-annual USC Libraries Scripter Award. Scripter honors the screenwriter or screenwriters of the year’s most accomplished cinematic adaptation as well as the author or authors of the written work upon which the screenplay is based. The USC Libraries will announce the winning authors and screenwriters on February 8 at USC.

Here are the finalists, in alphabetical order by film title: Read More »

Comments (1)

‘Argo’ Writers Win 2013 Scripter Award: Chris Terrio, Joshuah Bearman, Antonio J. Mendez

By | Saturday February 9, 2013 @ 9:49pm PST

Christy Grosz edits Deadline’s awards publication Awardsline:

Argo screenwriter Chris Terrio, as well as the movie’s origins material authors Joshuah Bearman (the Wired article “The Great Escape”) and Antonio J. Mendez (Penguin book The Master Of Disguise), won the 25th Read More »

Comments (2)

Scripter Award Finalists Announced

By | Tuesday January 15, 2013 @ 11:52am PST

A tie in balloting resulted in six nominees rather than the usual five for the 25th annual Scripter Awards, which honors the screenwriter or screenwriters of the year’s most accomplished movie adaptation as well as the author of the … Read More »

Comments (1)