Check Out Our New Look

UK Honors Film Director Steve McQueen And TV’s ‘Poirot’ Detective David Suchet (Oh, And Annie Lennox, Too)

By | Thursday December 30, 2010 @ 4:00pm PST

UPDATE: This New Year’s UK Honours list from the Queen includes only two names of major film/TV interest for CBEs (one notch below knighthood): film director Steve McQueen (Hunger) who’s about to start shooting Shame in January with Michael Fassbender, and actor David Suchet, best known for playing Belgian detective Hercule Poirot in those marvelous Agatha Christie mysteries for ITV and PBS. Music legend Annie Lennox was on the list, too, but a notch below with an OBE. I would say that McQueen’s selection is surprising given his anti-establishment stance. His Hunger was a sympathetic portrayal of Irish terrorist Bobby Sands – not the Establishment’s favourite person. Actress Harriet Walter, mainly known for her stage work over here, has become a Dame, and comedienne Sheila Hancock also becomes a CBE. Burt Kwouk, who was Peter Sellers’ karate-chopping butler in the Pink Panther movies has been made an OBE.

Comments (6)

Now Carey Mulligan Agrees To Feel ‘Shame’

By | Thursday December 9, 2010 @ 7:22am PST

She’ll play Michael Fassbender’s sister in Steve McQueen’s next indie project, Shame, which begins shooting on location in New York in January. Sales agent Hanway Films has pre-sold the film to several territories including MK2 in France and Prokino in Germany. Fassbender stars as a thirtysomething man living in New York, who is unable to manage his sex life. Mulligan takes the role after just winning the high-profile part of Daisy in Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby. On Shame, Abi Morgan (Brick Lane) has written the screenplay with McQueen. Shame is produced by Iain Canning, currently riding high having produced The King’s Speech, who developed this new McQueen project with Film4. Canning produced McQueen’s first film Hunger, which also starred Fassbender as Irish Republican hunger striker Bobby Sands and won the Camera d’Or at Cannes in 2008.

Comments (1)