Check Out Our New Look

UPDATED: Leaked List Leads To Laughs At TCA Awards

By | Saturday July 19, 2014 @ 9:56pm PDT

UPDATED: Leaked List Leads To Laughs At TCA AwardsUPDATED from TCA Awards: “First of all, I’d like to thank Variety and Gold Derby for letting me know that I should come tonight — I appreciate that very much. I got a dress, lickety split!” Julia Louis-Dreyfus said as she picked up her trophy for Best Individual Performance in Comedy.

The winners of the 2014 TCA Awards were leaked online this afternoon. But, in truth, the winners had learned some time ago they’d won — only winners show up at this non-televised trophy show. Nobody made Matthew McConaughey wise about this, however. Taking the stage to receive the trophy for Best Individual Performance in Drama, he tried to personally address his fellow nominees in his acceptance speech, calling them out by name and looking for them in the Beverly Hilton ballroom — the same room in which the Golden Globes are held each year. After running through the first couple names, creating awkwardness among critics, he singled out fellow nominee Bryan Cranston, saying, “You are here, sir!” Cranston, however, showed up not because he was nommed in the drama acting derby, but because Breaking Bad  had won Program of the Year for a second year running.

“Everyone [tonight] is thanking HBO,” Cranston said after HBO programs took four of the night’s trophies. “So,  thank you, HBO! Early on — you turned us down,” Cranston said on stage when the Breaking Bad win was announced.  He thanked TV critics for praising the AMC drama when few were watching “this story … Read More »

Comments (6)

Terry Crews To Host TCA Awards

Terry Crews To Host TCA AwardsWho Wants To Be A Millionaire host Terry Crews will host the 30th Annual Television Critics Association Awards on Saturday, July 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Crews, who also stars in Fox comedy Brooklyn Nine-Nine, will kick off the un-televised trophy show in which awards are handed out in such categories as news and information; youth; drama; reality; and comedy, as the TV critics in North America honor the best television programs of the 2013-2014 TV season.

Past TCA Awards hosts include  Bryan Cranston, Conan O’Brien, Drew Carey, Craig Ferguson, Wanda Sykes, the Smothers Brothers, Nick Offerman and Dax Shepard.

Comments (0)

TCA Awards: ‘House Of Cards’ Snubbed As AMC’s ‘Breaking Bad,’ FX’s ‘The Americans’ Nab Top Honors – Winners List

TCA Awards 2013Netflix‘s House of Cards – the prettiest dress in the TV store these days – got shut out of the TCA Awards tonight. It had been up for Outstanding New Program and Program of the Year, but those wins went instead to FX‘s The Americans and AMC‘s Breaking Bad, respectively. (Scroll down for the full winners list.)

“Three nights ago we were in New York, and had this New York premiere and we had the pleasure of seeing Warren Buffet shake hands and have his picture taken with Keith Richards and that was fucking awesome,” said Breaking Bad creator Vince Gilligan, picking up his show’s trophy for Program of the Year. He said he remembered at the time thinking, “‘How the heck did it come to this?’ I’ll tell you how it came to this – folks like you guys. A great many of you who, back in season one when our official number was 117 viewers – folks like you guys spread the word about Breaking Bad.”

“Boy this is awfully nice… it is,” said Individual Achievement in Comedy winner Louis C.K., eyeing the trophy and noting if he ever opens a diner he can put the list of cocktail specials on it. “No, it’s beautiful. It’s literally a plastic … Read More »

Comments 56

‘Key & Peele’ Stars To Co-Host TV Critics Association’s Trophy Show

By | Tuesday July 9, 2013 @ 8:00am PDT

Comedy Central’s Key & Peele stars Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele will co-host the 29th annual TCA Awards. At the non-televised trophy ceremony, TV critics, reporters, columnists, bloggers, etc., from the U.S. and Canada who belong to the Television Critics Association dispense 12 awards to their fave programs during their semi-annual press tour. This year’s awards show is set for Saturday, August 3 at the Beverly Hilton, where the summer tour will run from July 24-August 7. FX leads the way with seven nominations, which were announced in June, with CBS, NBC and HBO logging six apiece and AMC five. Key & Peele starts its third, 13-episode season in September.

Comments (0)

‘Game Of Thrones’, ‘Homeland’, Breaking Bad’, ‘Louie’ Among TCA Awards Winners

By | Saturday July 28, 2012 @ 9:36pm PDT
Nellie Andreeva

Last year’s Best New Show, HBO’s Game Of Thrones, was named Program Of The Year at the TV Critics Assn.’s Awards handed out tonight, succeeding last year’s top winner Friday Night Lights. Following in GOT‘s footsteps was Showtime’s hot freshman Homeland, which was named Best New Show and landed the individual achievement in drama acting award for star Claire Danes. AMC’s Breaking Bad won its second best drama series award (its first was in 2010), while FX’s critically praised Louie was recognized as best comedy, with its creator/star Louis C.K. earning the individual achievement in comedy prize.

PBS’ Downton Abbey was named best movie/miniseries, Fox’s So You Think You Can Dance won for best reality series, ABC Family’s Switched at Birth for youth programming, and CBS’ 60 Minutes for news and information program.

TCA’s Heritage Award was given to classic comedy series Cheers; the Career Achievement honor went to latenight host David Letterman.

Breaking Bad star Bryan Cranston hosted the event held at the Beverly Hilton in conjunction with the TCA’s summer press tour which runs through August 3rd.

Comments (9)

TCA Nominates ‘Homeland’ For Best Drama, New Show, Program Of The Year

By | Wednesday June 6, 2012 @ 8:15pm PDT

HomelandThe new series Homeland from Showtime and star Claire Danes figured prominently among nominees announced tonight for the 28th annual Television Critics Associations Awards. In addition to Homeland and Danes, the nominees for achievement in drama included Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad, AMC), Peter Dinklage (Game Of Thrones, HBO), Jon Hamm (Mad Men, AMC) and Jessica Lange (American Horror Story, FX). Homeland joined Girls and its star-creator Lena Dunham, New Girl, Revenge and Smash as contenders for Outstanding New Program. HBO leads all shows with with eight nominations, AMC has six, NBC and PBS each have 5; and CBS and FX each have 4. Read More »

Comments (4)